Alcohol Server Card
California RBS Training
California Alcohol Server Card
RBS Training Information
Do you need to get your California RBS training?
Earn your California California RBS training (commonly called: "California bartender license") by completing the Responsible Serving® of Alcohol Course for California.
Alcohol Server Card
California RBS Training Course Approval
How do I get an RBS certificate for California?
Rserving® is approved by the California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control to provide the mandatory RBS training.This online California RBS training meets the requirements of the Responsible Beverage Server Training Act, AB 1221.
To get an RBS alcohol server permit, register in the California RBS portal, complete an AB 1221 compliant RBS training course (like this one), and then take the RBS exam in the California RBS portal.
If you are looking for a course that provides the California RBS exam answers, sign up for our course. It will teach you everything you need to know to pass the RBS alcohol server exam. Audio for the entire course makes completing this course simple and easy.
How long does it take to complete responsible beverage service (RBS) training?Rserving's® online RBS training is completely self-paced with full audio. Pass each of the four lessons and then you will be ready to take the RBS exam. All the information needed to know the RBS exam answers is provided in an easy-to-understand format and you can retake the quizzes as many times as you want to prepare for the exam.
What is California responsible beverage service (RBS) training?The purpose of the California Responsible Serving® of Alcohol Course is to ensure servers of alcoholic beverages and their managers are educated on the dangers of serving alcohol to minors and over-serving alcohol to patrons with the intention of reducing alcohol-related harm to local communities.
Is RBS required in California & Who has to be RBS certified?Beginning July 1, 2022, any on-premises alcoholic beverage server and their manager must have a valid RBS certification from an ABC accredited RBS training provider and pass an online ABC administered RBS exam within 60 calendar days from the first date of employment. This includes any person who checks ID, takes drink orders for alcoholic beverages, or delivers drinks to patrons (or a person who manages or supervises that person).
How long is California RBS certification good for?Upon completing our course and passing the RBS exam through the California RBS portal, your California alcohol server certification will be valid for three years.
Are there any other fees?Yes, the state of CA requires students to pay $3 for a final exam. The final exam is provided on the CA RBS website. Students are required to obtain an RBS number, and pay the $3 fee to the state.
Responsible alcohol server training ensures that sellers and servers of alcohol understand the liquor laws in their states and serve responsibly. Some areas require alcohol seller/server certification for any employee that handles alcohol.
Our responsible server online course can be taken in one or more online sessions and satisfies the requirements in most areas. This training meets the requirements or recommendations (if applicable) in most states and jurisdictions. It is a good idea to get this certification because many establishments require this training to lower their insurance rates and the chances of failing a sting or alcohol check. This certification can also help you stand out from other job applicants who don't have server certification.General Information
This course is designed to help you maximize your knowledge of alcohol service through easy-to-master lessons. As you move through the course, you will learn specific and detailed information about how to serve alcohol responsibly.
How long does the course take?
For most people, this course will take just a couple of hours to complete. However, the course is self-paced and any additional time needed will depend on your personal study habits. You can take as much time as you need to study the course material and there are no penalties for retaking the quizzes.
Click the add to cart button below and proceed to the checkout to get signed up. You will be emailed a username/password to login and begin.
California RBS Training is also available through the following offer:
Related Courses for California:
What is the minimum age to sell/serve alcohol in California?
The minimum age to sell alcohol in California is 18 or supervised by a person at least 21
The minimum age to serve alcohol in California is 21 or 18 (bona fide public eating place)
- CA Dram Shop Laws: Yes
- CA Happy Hour Laws: The State of California does not have state-wide Happy Hour Prohibitions. Such laws may exist in your city or county. Check with your local jurisdiction for any restrictions.
Can bartenders in CA work as a bartender with a felony conviction? yes
Yes. The state only regulates businesses as a whole and not bartenders or employees of businesses.